Serial: The Alibi

The podcast, Serial was very interesting to listen to. I am not usually the type to enjoy listening to audiobooks or podcasts, or anything of the sort as I prefer reading myself, but this one really drew my attention. I think maybe due to the fact that the events seem so real by the way the narrator adds actual parts of interviews, and things like that.

I had never really considered what a podcast would be like, since before listening to this one I had not heard one before. I feel as if it adds a bit of mystery to the story that the narrator is telling. There is no visual aid used in podcasts, strictly voices. I think this is really unique and allows you to visualize the story in which ever way you like. I also like the fact that I could multitask while listening to the podcast. Usually if I am reading a novel, I have to put all my focus into what I am reading and I cannot complete any other work. While listening to this I was able to keep notes of what was happening, while preparing answers for the set questions.

podcast

“About the RELEVENT Podcast.” RELEVANT Magazine. RELEVENT Media Group, 2015. Web. 05 Oct. 2016. 

 

I think that podcasts are a really effective way of providing information. In cases like investigative journalism, podcasts are an easy way of keeping track of information. I feel that if I were to just sit down and read what this podcast shares, I would not be able to follow along as easily. It also catches my attention when the narrator includes music, and external sources in their work. This podcast I found similar to the news. There was a story being shared, facts, opinions, and urgency of the situation all to lead you to the conclusion.

As someone who does not listen to podcasts often, I discovered a few benefits to them after listening to this one. For example, like I mentioned above, listening to podcasts instead of reading allows the listener to multitask. I’m sure many people participate in activities daily that restrain them from being able to sit and watch a news report for an hour, but a podcast is much more portable. With being able to download them to your computer or phone, you can bring the podcast with you almost anywhere you go. Listening to a podcast also cuts out having to hold a book while reading. Instead, you can have headphones, a phone and a pocket for your phone and it is as portable as it gets.

One thing I am curious about after listening to this podcast is how the family might feel. I’m sure that both the family of the victim, and family of the accused found this time to be very hard for them. I’m sure that narrator, Sarah Koenig got permission to be sharing the story, but I wonder if the families ever thought the story would be shared to widely. Let alone used to be studied in classes!

serial_3106729b

Akkoc, Raziye. “Adnan Syed Could Call Alibi Witness in ‘Serial’ Murder Case.” The Telegraph. Telegraph Media Group, 19 May 2015. Web. 05 Oct. 2016.

I think that overall, Sarah Koenig did a really great job of sharing this story to the public in a way that I felt was not necessarily biased to either side. She speaks with great confidence and understanding of the facts of this story and I am excited to see what the next episode has to offer.

Who knows, maybe I will end up liking podcasts more than I like reading!

2 thoughts on “Serial: The Alibi

  1. Very insightful blog post Justine! I agree with your thoughts on podcasts being much more portable than other forms of media. It didn’t even occur to me to take notes while listening, but I agree that podcasts can be a great way to absorb information while completing other tasks.

    Like

  2. I really enjoyed reading your blog post Justine! It allowed me to look at podcasts as a whole in a different light. I think your points about how portable and accessible podcasts are is something that is often overlooked and I like how you pointed it out. Overall, this was really well written!

    Like

Leave a comment